What Are The Different Categories Of Felony DUI In Okaloosa County, Florida?

In Okaloosa County & Walton County, Florida, there are two main categories of DUI cases: Misdemeanor DUI and Felony DUI.

For Felony DUI cases, there are several categories. The first category is the misdemeanor DUI that is elevated to a felony because of the defendant’s prior record of DUIs (which include out of state priors).

These include:

  • Third DUI within 10 years of the last DUI conviction
  • Fourth DUI (or subsequent)

The second category of felony DUI cases are based on accidents that result in serious bodily injury or death. These include:

  • DUI with Serious Bodily Injury or Great Bodily Harm
  • DUI Manslaughter

If you have been charged with a felony DUI, it is absolutely imperative that you consult with an attorney about how to challenge your prior convictions. It could mean saving you from a lengthy jail or prison sentence.

I’ve successfully handled many felony Driving Under The Influence arrests and want to hear about your situation. If you or a family member has been arrested in Fort Walton Beach, Destin, or in other jurisdictions within Okaloosa County or Walton County, Florida, call me at (850) 362-6655.