What Is The Difference In The Penalty For Simple Battery and Domestic Violence Battery in Okaloosa County?

In Okaloosa County, Florida, Simple Battery is an first degree misdemeanor and all first degree misdemeanors are punishable by up to 1 year in jail or a combination of 1 year jail and/or probation.

If you are charged with “Domestic Violence” Battery, Florida Statutes also require a minimum of 1 year probation and the completion of 26 weeks of Batterer’s Intervention Program classes.

If you have been arrested for either simple battery or domestic violence battery, give me a call at (850) 362-6655 for a free consultation.